Uncategorized

Opinion and Thoughts About “All I Really Need To Know I Learned In Kindergarten” by Robert Fulghum

At last! I got to post something today! I was a little bit off these past weeks. It seems like my mind just stopped working. I just got into a lazy mode for how many days and no matter what I do I just can’t seem to get out of it and luckily I’m back! 🙂

Thanks to the scent of books in our city library. I was thinking of going there to look for inspiration and it didn’t disappoint me for I found so many books and my mind just went on thinking countless of ideas for each topic I could see.

Enough of the long intro and let’s get into the topic. I came across a book in the library entitle, “All I Really Need To Know I Learned In Kindergarten” by Robert Fulghum. I got curious and read it. Then the magic happened. Even in the beginning I know it’s a good read and I am not disappointed.

To cut the book short listed below are the things we learned in our kinder years and I kinda agree with him that everything we learned back then had prepared us to become a good human being. It just depends if we instil it or we just shrug it off and moved on with our lives. As you read them I will put my thoughts about each item.

1. Share everything

I know this is kinda right if you put it in a good perspective but as we grow old we get to know that NOT all people has something good on their minds. Though this is right let us just keep in mind to be observant enough to know that we are giving to those people with a pure heart and not to those who only gets what they can from others.

2. Play fair

This is a reminder to the bad people I am talking about it number one. Let us all play fair for the sake of not only ourselves but also for others sake. Remember, don’t do unto others what you don’t want others to do unto you, because life is like a wheel you’re on top and then the next minute you’re going down.

3. Don’t hit people

Aside from it is violent it is also not right. There are a lot of other ways to solve a misunderstanding if ever you’re in a fight or there are other ways to settle a dispute. Don’t you guys agree? Let us not let our ego take over and start hitting people as easy as blinking an eye. Aside from it hurts, you might end up in a hospital where you’ll just spend and it will lead to many more problems. Trust me it is not good.

4. Put things back where you found them

This is one of the important things I know we must not forget here. Especially when we’re talking about home stuffs or things that aren’t ours but we are curious enough that we picked it, looked at it and somehow put it somewhere else. It might end up getting lost or broken because of our negligence, right? So it is much better to put the things right where they were put in the first place unless it was placed in a dangerous position that might lead to it getting lost or broken, like in the stairs.

5. Clean up your own mess

We really need to do this. This doesn’t only talks about mess that is garbage physically but also other stuffs like the reasons people keep pointing fingers to others. Let’s stop doing that and hopefully we get to own up the mess we made and eventually straight it up.

6. Don’t take things that aren’t yours

Perfectly said. Let’s not take things that aren’t ours because it’s offending, rude and is disappointing. I hope we stop doing this.

7. Say you’re sorry when you hurt somebody

This is probably so easy to write but is hard to do. Even if we’re sorry we can’t just tell other people about it because there are other factors that makes things as saying sorry so very complicated that in the end people don’t get the chance to do this. I also have instances in my life where saying sorry is hard and sometimes saying sorry wont help at all. Sometimes when you hurt someone sorry will mean nothing no matter how much you mean it.

8. Wash your hands before you eat

This is a basic routine/behaviour we got and probably wont miss during our kinder. This is basically teaches us to have a proper hygiene and I hope all of us got it and teaches them to our kids and to other people’s kids.

9. Flush

This is also basic attitude that all of us might have got from our kinder years. or I guess not? Some are crazy enough not to do this and I really hate those people. I swear.

10. Warm cookies and cold milk are good for you

This habit teaches us to take some time and relax no matter how busy our lives had been. To not forget to sit and think of how life has been.

11. Live a balanced life – learn some and think some and draw and paint and sing and dance and play and work everyday some.

It tells us to enjoy life no matter how long or short it is as we perceived. It is because life only comes along once and when you get old you will never get back the years you have lost. So stay happy, live and do what you love.

12. Take a nap every afternoon

This reminds us that rest is good every now and then because no matter what we do our health is the most important asset we have. What will our wealth, position and name mean f our health isn’t in good condition? We would mean nothing. We will become useless. That’s why I admire those people who aren’t feeling well but still manages to do great things, inspire others and do what they love. It takes determination and a great deal of courage to be like them. I salute you guys! 🙂

13. When you out into the world, watch out for traffic, hold hands and stick together.

Sticking together through thick and thin is one of the best feeling in the world because no matter what you go through you know you have some wonderful people who has your back and wont leave you. Those people that will hold your hand no matter what happens. I hope you found people like them. Treasure them because in this crazy world finding these jewels are very rare.

14. Be aware of wonder. Remember the little seed in the styrofoam cup: the roots go down and the plant goes up and nobody really knows how or why, but we are all like that.

It tells us to not underestimate people so as not to judge people. You might know their names and their present but you don’t have any idea of what they’ve been through and you don’t know what they know. There are some people who speaks less but has a lot of knowledge and some are more of a talker but talks nonsense things. There are others that seems to be happy but are dying inside. We are all wearing masks that some of us are good at it that people think they are being their real selves but are actually not. Let’s not forget that. Good or bad, we are hiding something from everyone.

15. Goldfish and hamsters and white mice and even the little seed in the styrofoam cup – they all die. So do we.

This reminds us to always reflect how we live our lives because even if

16. The first word you learned – the biggest word of all – LOOK.

Look for anything. Be observant and see what’s going on around you. To not only let life pass us by but also to look at how life is going.

I hope you guys share the same thoughts as I am regarding this book but I know all of us has different thoughts about this. Let us just not dwell on the title of the book but on the thought it implies. Let us open our minds and not just let our first impressions ruin a good book. Try to read and you might find yourself getting hooked at reading it despite the first impression you just had, same as me. Enjoy reading! 🙂 xoxo

Leave a Reply

